Google announced last year that that it will discontinue its social network, google+. It was revealed that the consumer version of google+ will shut down on April 2, 2019. The decision to discontinue was reportedly because of a security breach. A privacy bug was found which gave developers access to data of over 500,000 users. This was discovered after a third-party review of its security and privacy controls called Project Strobe.
Official post by google says “On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your album archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content ,just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google photos will not be deleted.
However, Google says they have no evidence of developers being aware of this bug. It was revealed that the usage and engagement of Google+ is really low as 90% of user sessions lasted less than 5 seconds.
It was revealed the data breach does not include “any data you may have posted or which is connected to Google+ or any other service, like Google+ posts, messages, Google account data, phone numbers, or G Suite content.”
It is however important to note that G Suite customers can access Google+ after April, as their Gogle+ accounts will remain active